Faith Community at
January 24, 2019, 07:58:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Wordsfree is on a New Server again! (April 2017)
We moved from Azure to a new cloud solution that should be more stable, and importantly: cheaper! -- Matt
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Rohr Nov 1, 2013 -- All Saints Day -- We Live in the Shadowlands  (Read 1526 times)
Forum Fanatic

Karma: +89/-5038
Offline Offline

Posts: 5544


View Profile Email
« on: November 01, 2013, 04:28:47 PM »

Richard Rohr's Daily Meditation:
Seven Themes of an Alternative Orthodoxy

Sixth Theme: The path of descent is the path of transformation.
Darkness, failure, relapse, death, and woundedness are our primary
teachers, rather than ideas or doctrines (Process).

Friday, November 1, 2013
All Saints’ Day

We Live in the Shadowlands
Meditation 44 of 51

All God appears to want from us is honesty and humility (and they are
finally the same thing). If God is holding out for human perfection, God
is going to have a long wait. There is no other way to read Jesus’
stories of the prodigal son (Luke 15:11-32 [1]) or the publican and the
Pharisee (Luke 18:9-14 [2]). In each story, the one who did wrong ends up
being right—simply because he is honest and humble about it. The one
who is formally right ends up being terribly wrong because he is proud
about his own performance.


How have we been able to miss that important point? I suspect it is
because the ego wants to think well of itself and deny any shadow
material. Only the soul knows we grow best in the shadowlands. We are
blinded inside of either total light or total darkness, but “the light
shines on inside the darkness, and it is a light that darkness cannot
overcome” (John 1:5 [3]). Ironically, it is in darkness that we find and
ever long for more light. Mystics like John of the Cross recognized this
to be true on the spiritual level first. It seems the inner and outer
worlds mirror one another.


Adapted from Breathing under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps, p. 33

... love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!